A Farewell to Arms

8 Mar

I’d like to talk about Charlie Sheen.

But i won’t. Not enough room on the INTERNET to talk about all the crazy going on there.

So instead i’ll talk about the other thing currently occupying space in my head, normally reserved for air, EATING.

Oh my good god is living in France in winter is a sheer test of will or what?

All it takes is December, January, February, a little bit of fois gras, some sneaky – still in the fridge as you cut it – cheese eating, a couple of plates of confit du canard, an entire olive baguette on a Sunday afternoon and voila – a new layer of protective fat. Just in time for Spring.

I’ve taken off my jeans and put on my leggings. I am not putting them back on until they no longer look like i’ve sprayed denim directly onto my legs.

It’s official. Poulette is on operation ‘put the cheese down’.

Or maybe operation (no) dessert storm.

Now i could do this the old-fashioned French way and cover every inch of my body in fat reducing creams and stuff my self silly with diet pills, but i’m gonna do this the plain old Anglo-Saxon way and stuff myself full of vegetable for several weeks, while salivating on the window of pattiseries and restaurants all over town.

This is really happening guys.

9 Responses to “A Farewell to Arms”

  1. Jean-Marie March 8, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Hi Poulette,

    Yes, this is winter in Paris…or summer in Australia (I won’t commemt on my own layer of fat: TMI!
    But your dieting resolution comes just in time for Careme,the French/catholic version of Ramadan!!!
    Hope to see u back in your jeans soon

    Jean-Marie
    http://www.ourfrenchimpressions.com

    • Poulette Paris March 8, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      As soon as you said Ramadan, all i could think of what all the delicious Tunisian delicacies lining the sidewalk of the Boulevard de Belleville.

      I need help…tell me more about Careme!

  2. Laurent March 9, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Although this must be pretty gruelling for you, it does make a hilarious read for us.

    • Poulette Paris March 9, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      I’m just glad my misfortunes can be of amusement to others.

      I’m hungry.

  3. Relle March 10, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    I’m joinin ya….on top of all that cheese – I’ve just got back from a twistee eating fiasco in brisvegas…so doing together is the only way to go…and it is G O I N G!

    • Poulette Paris March 10, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

      Woman let’s do this. I’ve had soup for dinner three nights in a row, and no bread or cheese at all!!!!

      What is everyone else doing?

    • Poulette Paris March 10, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      PS: i also made a lovely Rhubarb compote which i heat up and eat with yogurt. Yum.

  4. Laura March 10, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    I’ve also put on some weight since living here, but I prefer to blame my lack of exercise rather than the delicious pastries and bread because I’m not ready to give it up!

    • Poulette Paris March 10, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

      It’s funny, i’ve sort of just consistently lost weight while living in France, i assume all the walking. Well, that and effectively being unable to eat in restaurants or buy a lot of food. the ‘Poverty Diet’ as my family likes to say. I actually equate the sudden few kilos to the fact that i am now living on the ground floor! I’m sure it’s the reason! That and the need for cheese, of course.

Leave a Reply

