Love.

15 Feb

I have intentionally written a post about love on either side of Valentine’s day. Gotta do something to keep up my pretext of being an emotional jerk, right?
And if you didn’t think i was a jerk? You might in a minute!

But it is on the brain (love, not being a jerk) and once again i’ve far too much time to think. That and i happen to be reading a book about love.

It’s a scary concept, and the thing that scares me the most? The inability to know whether the feelings you have today will still be there next week – or next year – or even in 10 years.

It’s such a leap of faith and it scares the hell out of me.

Clearly i’m not a religious person. Believing in something when there is a proven theory against it just isn’t something i feel capable of. Except in this instance the theory isn’t proven, it just hovers.

(One of those ‘big’ questions – can you get me a whiskey Wonky?)

I’ve been in the position before –  i know what it’s like to have such strong feelings for someone and then one day, just like that, you don’t any more. I know it’s possible. I know it doesn’t have to be, but nevertheless, i know it can.

And so i don’t know how to trust my own feelings.

3 Responses to “Love.”

  1. Uigei February 15, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    You’ll do what’s right for you. If It means that you don’t love that person anymore, than you just don’t. Now, if you are fickle and quixotic, that you must fix. If it’s a righteous dissolution, no need for remorse…in my opinion
    Peace
    Ui

  2. wonky73 February 16, 2011 at 4:56 am #

    Say my name and I appear, with a cocktail of course. Far be it from me to give anyone advise about love. My love life is a field of failure and fear. But as we determined earlier there are no right answers so there are no wrong answers. So I can babble all I want.
    The best romance I ever had only lasted six months. It was passionate, intense, sometimes bizarre, and ended in massive explosive breakup. I can honestly say I wouldn’t trade that for anything else.
    I was going to say you have to do what makes you happy. But I take that back. Happy is boring. Do what makes you crazy and passionate. There are no guarantees a love will last forever. Hell there isn’t a guarantee it will last a month. But do you ever really feel as alive as you do during that time when it’s all messed up and you don’t know what you really feel. That wonderful mix of uncertainty, joy, hope, doubt.
    When did I turn into Yoda?

    • Poulette Paris February 16, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

      You are so right. And the cocktail helped as well. Being afraid of something that may or may not happen is a bit dumb. I guess it’s a question of protecting yourself from the trauma at a later date, but i’m not sure why i would be scared of that anyway, when i crave drama at every other opportunity in my life anyway!!

      As a wise man said to me this morning – you hope for the best, but you expect the worst, that way you don’t get any nasty surprises.

Leave a Reply

