Icy Cold Service

29 Jan

I finished work a little early last night and so took advantage of the pre-8pm hour to invest further into my chronic laziness. I popped into Picard (a frozen food paradise, for anyone non acquainted). I arrived at 7.55pm and was greeted by a young man who opened the door for me – which struck me as extraordinarily polite and thoughtful for someone employed in a customer service position in France.

I smiled and said thank you. He scowled at me and said i have 5 minutes to get what i want and get out otherwise he will close the doors and i will be locked in all night.

Now i felt like i was back in France.

So, not to piss off the angry young man any more than i already had by simply living and breathing, i quickly bundled up everything i needed in order to not have to cook anything real for the entire weekend, and proceeded to the checkout. Lots of people were busily trying to get out of the shop as fast as myself, so there was a bit of a wait. The angry young man started bellowing again, this time telling us that it shouldn’t be taking so long and that the door will be locking in two minutes. We were to decide which side of the door we would like to be on.

I really wanted to yell out that perhaps if he came over here and sat himself down at the second register then this whole process would get him out of here and home to his miserable life a little faster. God i wish my French was good enough to have yelled that out to him.

I managed to get out just in time, and approached the man with a lovely smile and thanked him for his patience. I read the sign on the door that said PUSH, but when i pushed the door to no avail, the young man gave me an exaggerated eye roll and yelled out “PULL dis donc!”

14 Responses to “Icy Cold Service”

  1. Expat Stu January 29, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    Explain, s’il te plait. What’s Picard? Some kind of a 21st century traiteur?

    • Poulette Paris January 30, 2011 at 12:53 am #

      Exactly. It’s a frozen land of goodies. It’s actually heaven, i have heard. You can get anything there, but frozen, and the quality is actually quite incredible. I forsee a world revolution. Though i’m disappointed to find out you would have missed the cheesy significance of my title pun.

  2. Uigei January 29, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    I cannot even begin to tell you the crazy words that were going through my mind while reading this. I abhor attitudes horriblus (sp) !

  3. Laurent January 30, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    These kind of peeople seem to live in France exclusively, yes.

    • Poulette Paris January 30, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

      Totally! What do you think made them that way?!

      • Uigei January 30, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

        I have to be honest with you, the very first time I visited France this was a big concern for me…The French not tolerating Americans. Did I worry. I had some French under my belt and I set out to merge in and be a great visitor. Needless to say, I have never had a problem (not with a Frency, but with a cab driver I did……)
        I just worked really hard to not be at their wrath ! I’ve learned a few things every time I’ve gone. It’s been a few years, so I guess I have to brush back up.

        I don’t know where they get that fom…or where anyone gets that snoot from. I can say truthfully that it is ugly !

      • Laurent January 31, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

        Like Germany, the French are a bit of an extreme people. Many people will be extremely polite and civil, but the ones who aren’t swing to the complete other end of the niceness spectrum.
        It must be especially shocking for people from an Anglo-Saxon culture, because generally, in my experience, public life is very agreeable and polite there.

      • Poulette Paris February 6, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

        It is very agreeable and polite. It’s nice, if perhaps a little boring. Experiencing the other side is fun, and i must admit the arrogance gives me a lot to giggle about in general, because i have to say, if i didn’t giggle, i would probably be punching someone in the face. And that wouldn’t be very agreeable and polite of me!

  4. Expat Stu January 31, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    Sometimes it’s an attempt at humour that completely misfires.

    • Poulette Paris February 6, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

      Sometimes. Then one must discuss the topic of what constitutes the differentiation between the Frenchman’s attempt at humour v’s rudeness. Hmmm, i think we’d better stop now before we both fall into the intellectual deep-end here.

      Bought any fun-coloured nail polish lately?

    • Uigei February 6, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

      True….a boarish attempt at humor…it may just be their way

  5. Poulette Paris February 8, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    Something funny. I tried to pop into Biocoop last night at 7.57pm. Door was shut. People inside. Me waving. Girl was not having it. But, quelle chance! The door opened to let someone out and so i yelled out i wanted to come in and it’s not 8pm yet, and then the lady behind me did too! We staged a revolution and we all went shopping!!

    Vive la France!

  6. lefrancophoney February 9, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Mean, but at least honest! I prefer it to England. But yes, I too would *love* to have good enough French to be able to answer back and discuss such issues in more detail. Very frustrating.

Leave a Reply

