Coffee with the man who broke my heart. Twice.

16 Nov

You think correct.

I saw ‘The Frenchman’. (Da-da-da-dahhhhhh)

It was time i reclaimed what was mine. So i sucked up what is left of my rapidly depleting pool of pride and strode off down the street in the direction of Oberkampf to…

…recuperate my tennis racquet.

That’s right, it had been held hostage in that apartment of sin for far too long – cowering under the bed while my former lover was (i imagine) rolling around on top of the bed with the sexy, lithe, bohemian woman he dropped me for (i imagine), reading poetry, drinking wine and smoking cigarettes by candlelight. (I imagine).

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the saga of the Frenchman, never fear – you can read the whole, sorry story in the blog archives, or more conveniently, just click here. Or here. Or here.

While i swore to myself i wouldn’t see him, and distinctly told him to ‘never, ever contact me again’, my resolve weakened slightly over the past few months, and i had an urge to see the reality behind the fantasy. I wanted to see if what i had put up so high on that pedestal still sat there, or if, after everything he put me through, did i finally see him clearly?

And then he walked in.

And i could feel my heart drop so heavily down to my stomach, it felt like i’d swallowed it.

12 Responses to “Coffee with the man who broke my heart. Twice.”

  1. M November 16, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    eh, why is this being told in parts. finish the story woman!

  2. Uigei November 16, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    You have already submitted. Keep your eyes forward. You can get past this man and his cute face and all of his je ne sais quoi,( literally ‘I don’t know what’).
    Are there no other cutie pies if Paris (Paree) ? ….and to get all in your business…when was the last time you played tennis ?
    Get out there and get ‘chu a new thang !

    (and I wouldn’t tell anyone else that he broke your heart 2xs)

  3. Uigei November 16, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    That should read…Are there no other cutie pies IN Paris (Paree)

  4. villy November 17, 2010 at 3:44 am #

    Oh yes, the tennis racket!

    And I need to know the rest of the story. Or, I at least need some type of conclusion. If that’s too much information to share, give us a choose your own adventure ending and we can pick which one we like best.

  5. Poulette November 17, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    M – ha i know, but you know now it’s Wednesday, the only day i can officially say that i am busy and important.
    U- What an idiot i am, but you know, i can say it because i’ve no pride. Oh how you make it sound so easy to get out and get a new thang! But maybe 3 times’ a charm?
    V- I will resume shortly. I still don’t even know what’s going on in my head, but i’ll sort it out and get it onto the page as quick as i can. In the meantime, if you think i should follow the sexy man through the red door, turn to page 78.

  6. villy November 17, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    turning to page 78…

  7. Poulette November 17, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    how could you say that!!

  8. villy November 17, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    It’s a book, I am only supposed to live through the character, not actually live it.

    I guess that’s why the author makes the narrative decisions and not the reader.

  9. Poulette November 19, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    yes, but you are morally obliged to hope the author make the right decisions non?

  10. Uigei November 19, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    You are so right. Me talkin’, the one who doesn’t have a thang….but I’ve been looking.

  11. villy November 19, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    In real life I am morally obliged, but if it was in a real book, definitely not – that is why there is a difference between the author, implied author and the narrator. But, I am sure your don’t want this to descend into academic wank. But it would be fun to discuss some other time.

  12. Poulette November 19, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    U – I been looking to, there ain’t much about! lol.

    V – You be making smart talk again

Leave a comment