The (slightly less) simple life…

9 Nov

Well someone certainly pushed the play button on my social life. Only problem is the temporary pause seemed to migrate from my ability to communicate verbally, to by ability to communicate via the written word.

And so be it the reason i have not written all week. Perhaps there are so many things to write about that it’s clogging my thinking passage. Though i don’t know for sure, i can’t think!

Last week, i moved from my stinky cigarette fumed collocation into a friend of mines’ lovely, modern 1 bedroom apartment while she is away. It’s only for a very short time, but it’s really given me a taste of nostalgia. A taste of what i have been missing while i’ve been flippantly passed through one house share to the next. A taste of an old life where i functioned as an adult, had possessions and had the luxury of a kitchen where i can cook meals, and entertain.

A real life grown up.

When i moved to France, i knew i was giving up the comfort i once had, with a bigger idea in mind, and i was okay with it. It has been an exciting ride living the nomad existence and it’s taught me a lot of valuable lessons about how many ‘things’ people actually need. About how much ‘security’ it’s possible to live without.

Which is great.

But you know what?

I want some things again!

I want to feel at ease and at one in my own home.

I want to be able to serve coffee and food to my friends in a space that is warm and inviting.

These are things that are important to me.

There are other things i used to deem necessary that i don’t care so much for anymore, but i guess sometimes you need to get back to basics to work out just what it is that gives you the satisfaction you desire.

 

I’ve always been one for extremes, but it should be possible to find a balance between living a simple existence and indulging yourself just a little, without tipping the scales too far in either direction.

The most important thing is to keep the same level of simplistic lightness that comes with being your own person in a big bad city.

How to do it is another question, but as Barney Stinson would say, “Challenge accepted, Paris!”

 

 

5 Responses to “The (slightly less) simple life…”

  1. M November 10, 2010 at 5:05 am #

    absolutely!

  2. ksam November 11, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    I hear you 100% on this – I lived in a tiny shoebox for two years in order to save money for an apartment purchase. I used to tell myself it wasn’t so bad and that living simply was good, but now I’m living in place 3-4 times the size, and I’m realizing just what I missed! It’s so nice to feel like an adult again, to have real furniture, room to invite people over and to be able to cook for them. We had people over this weekend and it felt so great. So it may take time, but I’m sure you’ll get there too!

  3. Poulette November 11, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    Hey Sam, thanks for the motivational comment, i’m feeling it! At least now i see some direction. It’s nice having a focus other than ‘trying to stay in the country’ and ‘trying to pay rent’. Although both of those are still major focuses nevertheless!

  4. villy November 11, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    The day will come when you have room to invite guests over and I have more than a single element to cook on… I faith!

  5. Poulette November 11, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    chin chin!!! And on that day the milky bars are on me!!

Leave a Reply

