Relax, and breathe…

11 Aug

Last week was the first of my 4 weeks off work, and i have to say, i really struggled to cope with having so much free time.

I literally did not know what to do with myself, and with almost everyone long departed on holidays, i was feeling pretty depressed. It didn’t take long however to get my head around the many (SO many) benefits to all this free time.

Waking late is a good one. And learning how to only feel a tiny bit of guilt about it, was the first step. Exercise was the next. I think i’d forgotten the term even existed beyond the km’s one already walks on a daily basis just to function in this city – this week i’ve power walked miles up the canal, done yoga in the park – i love you free time!!!

It might be the same for everyone, after knowing nothing but work for however long, it must always be difficult to find a new pace. But once you’ve found it, man it is nice.

And Paris in August, last week it seemed like the worst thing in the world, and this week, in my new, relaxed state, i couldn’t want to be anywhere else.

I’ve been out more and i’ve met more people than i have in months. I’ve discovered bars that completely rock my world – new areas i just didn’t have time to explore before, and even had a little summer fling with a sexy, yet totally unreliable French boy (i say boy for a reason, due to the latter personality trait)!

I’m off to the beach tomorrow, i’ll though i’ll only be a week out of Paris, but i really feel already that i will miss it dearly. Though now my body is in holiday mode, i should be able to enjoy each minute of the holiday in its absolute entirety. I actually think i’ll even enjoy each minute of the 5 hour train trip as well!!

I feel completely relaxed, and completely happy. September is going to start with a bang, a bang of new apartment, new work, and new money problems. But right now, i just don’t care.

The holidays agree with me….

😉

2 Responses to “Relax, and breathe…”

  1. villy August 12, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    Hey Poulette,

    Happy to hear things are going so well for you. New friends, new job, new apartment…sounds like things are starting to fall into place! I have my fingers crossed for you.

    How did you find your new apartment? I arrive in Paris mid-September and need to find a temporary place, but so far craiglisr.fr has been a bust.

    Enjoy your summer. 🙂

  2. Poulette August 16, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Hey Villy! I’m writing from beautiful Biarritz! This place is really incredible. I never expected it to be so. Great to hear from you I was wondering when you were arriving. Actually, I found it on craigslist. It really does have some good stiff on it, I think maybe its just more difficult when you are outside the country. Email me and I’ll respond with a couple of options. After Thursday! Xx

Leave a Reply

