Fool me once…

30 May

I haven’t written any updates about the Frenchman yet for the simple reason that there isn’t one.

An update that is. Though, one would not be mistaken for thinking that perhaps there is no Frenchman either.

It’s entirely MORE THAN possible that i have been taken for a fool.

Oh, i just wrote MORE THAN real big, which is funny because i just realised i’m listening to MORE THAN WORDS on my itunes. Bizarre.

Sorry, i’m drunk. My boss dragged my sorry ass out of bed this morning and took me down to the Marche Aligre, for wine. Wine before midday. (But i bought a really cute candelabra for 8 euros. That made me momentarily happy. But only for a moment (see previous post).)

So we continued drinking more wine at lunch, while making up stories about all the other people in the restaurant. It was Mother’s Day in France today, very cute seeing all the men taking out their moms.

It’s been 5 days and i’ve heard no word from the Frenchman. I know you are all falling over yourselves to say ‘i told you so’, but i just can’t believe it. I’m not a stupid person, how could i have been so blind? And how can one person have such an affect on you that they take all logic out of your reason.

I’m currently in a wine induced pit of despair, in bed at 4pm on a Sunday, slumped over my laptop, listening to Les Miserables and wishing Jean Valjean would come pick me up and carry me off to his factory and look after me.

If i was really silly, i would be concerned for his wellbeing, but i know better than that.

Fool me once, shame on you.

Fool me twice, shame on me.

Right. I’m off to take a sobering shower and get ready to face the world again tonight…

5 Responses to “Fool me once…”

  1. liz May 30, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    awww poulette 😦 dont stress. i feel ur pain. i have been their, done that, so many times. in addition im still not over a frenchie who has been toying with my emotions for the past 7 years. yikes!
    so whatever. EFF HIM. watch just as soon as u get all sad about it, he’ll pop up again. thats always how it works. and trust me, NOONE here is going to say i told u so. we have all been in ur situation, and noone is judging!! we’re ur support system!!
    i totally agree with the “fool me once, shame on u. fool me twice, shame on me.” way of thinking tho!
    eff him tho. and try not to worry about it. (easier said than done, i kno…)

  2. villy May 31, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    1. Sorry “ass”? Oh my, you’re drunk and you’ve become “americanised”! πŸ˜›
    2. High five on the candelabra! Pics?
    3. I personally am not the “I told you” kind. I am more of the belief that people learn the lesson when they are good and ready. There is nothing wrong with wanting to think the best of people.
    4. Sunday is a great day to drink for no apparent reason. Mine involved my besties, and couple of bottle of prosecco around a kitchen table while making arancinis.

  3. Poulette May 31, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Villy my boss is American, and think i must have had his voice in my head! “Come on y’all lets get that bitches ‘ass’ outta bed an get all drunk”

    Man i have a giant hangover.

    Liz – i mean what is WITH French guys??!

    Update, still no word. It has been almost a week. Could he be dead? Or will it just be that he will be once i get stuck into him.

  4. Poulette May 31, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    PS will get some pics of the candelabra, just want to give it a little wash!

  5. Jean-Marie August 23, 2010 at 4:41 am #

    Le coeur a ses raisons que la raison ne connait pas…

Leave a Reply

