Moments like these…

25 May

Do you ever find yourself in that moment when, despite the everyday craziness of life,  you just feel completely happy?

I do. Not often, and often they only last a few precious moments. (Like the moment you wake up in smiling ignorance, too hazy to realise you have a hangover the size of Australia)

But i’m having one right now.

I remember a conversation i had with my best friend, when we were traveling around Europe together. We talked about the idea of one day renting an little apartment in Paris. Just for a month, maybe two, and we would sit in that little old apartment, and on the terraces of cafes, me being a writer and her taking photos.

But it seemed a bit silly – an unimaginable dream at the time.

But now here i am, in this beautiful little apartment, eating my lentil salad all on my lonesome on a beautifully set table, next to the flower boxes on the open window sill, watching the rain, listening to the thunder, sipping my mineral water and writing. Yes, it’s just my dumb blog, but i am sitting here in my very own fantasy.

Half an hour ago i was doing my washing, miserable about work, having no money or something along those lines, but, just in that quiet moment, i had it all.

And the moment passes……

7 Responses to “Moments like these…”

  1. Melissa May 26, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    You are living the dream honey, it takes courage and a depth of character to be true to yourself. Savour these moments and learn to remember them during the hard times. Congratulations on achieving something that others only fantasize about! xxx

  2. liz May 26, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    awww i love those moments!!! you are living THE life….try to enjoy every moment!! it’s such an amazing thing to be living abroad in paris. smile – la vie est belle!!! 😀

  3. villy May 26, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    I am trying to remember this Australian poem about a sigh that reminds me of the feeling I got when I read your entry. Something about those fleeting moments.

    I will remember it…if it kills me.

    Oh, and put your blog down! Writing is writing. And trust me, you never want to be envious of us super serious writers who have to spend hours pent up, trailing through our emotions, spewing them forth on paper. Eck!

  4. villy May 26, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    Oh yes, I found it.

    Sometimes I feel the heart go out of me.
    Sometimes I feel the heart ripped out of me,
    quite gently,
    it is not pain,
    just the absence.
    I feel the heart go out of me,
    I sigh. It somes back eventually.
    I forget again, as I do everytime.

    – Jan McKemmish

    I love this poem in contrast to your entry because it’s show the binary. Happiness can be fleeting, but so to can heartache. I find that quite liberating really. 😀

  5. Poulette May 29, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Villy, that is an absolutely beautiful poem, thanks for bringing it to my attention. I really felt it. So much so that i took a huge sigh, at the point that said ‘sigh’. lol. Your’re right, feelings are fleeting, so we should embrace all of them huh!

    Mel and Liz, thans for your kind words, guess you need to think about it a bit to remember why you do things and to keep yourself on track.

  6. Jean-Marie August 23, 2010 at 4:35 am #

    Happy to be your photographer friend next time I am in Paris…hopefully my photos will be as gorgeous as your writing!

  7. Poulette August 24, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    Merci Jean Marie!

Leave a Reply

