Confessions of a shopperholic…

1 May

Allow me to go all superficial on you, just for a moment.

Since I have been living in Paris and not working in my high powered advertising job (with all my ‘real’ clients and big fat pay check), I have for the first time in my life really had to put a lid on the spending I do. And lets not beat around the bush, there was some spending. I have never wanted to deny myself something that I like, and to be honest I’ve never really had to. Obviously I’m no Ilsa Fisher in that terrible shopperholic movie, but if there was something that I REALLY wanted, I’d buy it.

Now that it’s really no longer an option, I have to try harder to find my simple pleasures elsewhere. While it’s a nice transition to find yourself focusing on something other than what you are wearing, it does cut a bit deep being back in Australia surrounding myself with family and friends that CAN (and do) afford to shower themselves with shiny new things regularly.

I have to keep reminding myself of the bigger picture. I sat in a job for years longer than I should have wondering if my life would ever be what I wanted it to be, and suddenly I realise that it is. I can genuinely say that there is nothing else in the world right now that I am not either doing, or working towards doing. I may not be able to afford those amazingly beautiful brown boots in the window at Mimco, but I’m living the life that I have always wanted to live and I’m happy.

The frustration of not being able to have something that you really want is no where NEAR as great as the frustration of thinking that the way you are living your life is not up to your own expectations.

And you know what? I can still walk into a shoe shop and give the leather boots a big fat sniff. Smelling them is almost as good as wearing them anyway….(no? Not the same thing?!)

10 Responses to “Confessions of a shopperholic…”

  1. villy May 2, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    Shopping is like food, you must approach it with moderation. Deprivation will ultimately lead to a binge in a moment of weakness. I know. In one day: DiCo boots from Green With Envy, a Karen Walker jacket from r-pm, a peacoat form Country Road and sunglasses from Cactus Jam. Complete gluttony. And I felt terrible the next day.

  2. Poulette May 3, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    Villy, ouch! I can only dream of that. Are you in Melbourne?
    I am learning the art of moderation. The Parisiens teach it extremely well.

    On another note, SO disappointed in Cactus Jam lately.

  3. M May 3, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    i agree completely. having lived a life i hated but with a fat pay cheque wasn’t nearly as satisfying as it is to now live life on my terms, albeit without the fat bonus, but i’ll live. being happy beats everything.

  4. villy May 4, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    Oh yes, I am in Melbourne. But not for long though. I am getting my EU passport in the next few weeks and then I am off to Paris. I just have to, you know, find a job and an apartment! Ha!

    And yes, Cactus Jam is completely horrible right now. I think Belinda kept them in check, but now it’s all gone down hill. Have you been to the r-pm in Lygon Street. It has some amazing stuff…so does the Husk in Lygon too. I shouldn’t encourage you though. Atleast you can eat some yummy food from Parisienne Pates while you browse.

  5. villy May 4, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    btw, if you have any tips on job hunting, let me know! ha!

  6. Poulette May 4, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    Hey Villy, i should stay away i think – i’m back in Paris on Tuesday and will be job hunting myself for some part time work (while i slave away at my ‘fashion’ job.) Girls gotta eat. I’ll keep you up to date with my progress and share anything useful of course!!

    I so badly want some J Brand jeans from Husk. Meanwhile i’m going to go to that new Jeans shop on Chapel st (with the friendly punk salesmen) near Hungry Jacks and check out their jeans. There’s this brand called Paige that is supposed to be really good. I’m probably not telling you anything you don’t know thou.

    Okay. Off to work.

  7. villy May 5, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Ooh, Paris! I am jealous. Good luck with the job hunt! And yes, any useful hints would be greatly appreciated. I think I will be in the same position as you: I need to find a job that will allow me to continue with my writing. Is your “fashion” job in design?

    Quick question: how good does your French need to be to land a job? I am learning as fast as I can!

    And you have caught me out on the Paige brand. I don’t know them, but I will check them out. If you are talking about the shop ‘That Store’ or that other jeans place, I keep meaning to check out the store at Docklands which apparently sells Superfine jeans for $100. Don’t quote me on that though!

  8. Expat Women May 7, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    Hi Poulette,

    Regina here, for ExpatWomen.com.

    I would like to personally invite you to list your blog on our Expat Women Blog Directory (www.expatwomen.com/expatblog/) so that other women can read about and learn from your expat experiences.

    Many thanks in advance for your contribution and keep up your great blog!

    Regina

  9. Poulette May 8, 2010 at 6:43 am #

    Villy – My french is terrible, i speak a bit but still really don’t understand anything people are saying to me, but i work for an American designer. It’s not easy dealing with suppliers though. I think if you can find a job (like nannying or teaching english) then it’s great to earn a living while you take the time to immerse yourself in the language. Then, eventually, you can get a bilingual job. That’s what i’m aiming for soon.

    Regina – thanks so much for your comment! I will jump on and sign up (that’s what i do?)

    P xx

  10. villy May 9, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    Merci, Poulette! I guess you just have to take baby steps. I am sure things will fall into place for both of us. Look forward to reading about your next adventure.

Leave a Reply

