Colocation location

16 Apr

Well, I have been very bad. I have not written in a week. While I was waiting for my visa, which i have now got (yipee!) I took a short-term contract at an ad agency here in Melbourne, on account of sheer boredom.

And it worked, boy is my boredom cured. But now I’m severely suffering from the ‘bloody tired’ syndrome – something i find usually affects people in the first few weeks of new jobs, while brains are still acquainting themselves with work.

So, dear readers, I am sorry for being so slack, but at least i am not neglecting this page due to sunning myself on St Kilda beach! (But I might, given the opportunity, I can admit that.)

So i am back to Paris shortly, and am madly trying to find somewhere to live. A new colocation. Tricky. Very tricky. Tricky enough to find a place when you are actually IN Paris. A near impossibility when you are searching from another continent. I am just really missing my own ‘things’ though, if you know what I mean. I so desperately want to have somewhere to come back to straight away, somewhere to hang up all my clothes, line up all my little cosmetic bottles and stick up all my little pictures. I don’t want my friends to have the burden of me lying on their sofa/mattress/kitchen table etc while i search and search when I get back. I have only just formed my friendships in my new home I don’t want to go cutting them off at the neck now.

So I persist.

I write email after email after email to the fellows and lasses on craigslist and all those other sorts of  ‘english speaking’ websites. Selling them the benefits of living with an Australian who has a job and likes to cook. Dealing with the excitement of waiting for them to write me back, and then the rejection of realising it’s been 2 weeks and it may just be that they ain’t gonna write me back.

There have been a couple of winners too. One girl had a great place near Voltaire, she thought it was too hard with the me in Oz thing, but we’re friends on facebook now – life’s still got its upsides ‘eh. I wrote to one girl tonight who has a spare bedroom right next door to the Buttes Chaumont – my favourite place in Paris. Hate to be hopeful but geez I really hope this one writes back to me!

It’s also rare to find a colocation without a cat these days. What is with that?

So, my friends, I ask you. Have you been struggling with these issues too? Have you found a new place on your first go?

Any tips, comments, stories, suggestions?

11 Responses to “Colocation location”

  1. M April 17, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    it’s a little strange how many parallels we have. i found my colocation through A Small World. see if you can get someone you know to send you an invite to join it. unfortunately i haven’t quite reached that stage yet. but basically it provides you a better chance of finding something that’s genuine as opposed to the thousands of scamsters on Craigslist who’ll ask you for a deposit before you even see the place.

  2. Poulette April 18, 2010 at 2:46 am #

    M, oh my god what a revelation…i had NEVER heard of this before but now i want to be in it so bad! I don’t think i know anyone who is a member…but then maybe i DO. I will be asking around! Thanks so much for the tip.

    PS – i have become incredibly good at spotting the scammers almost within the first 2 words of their ad now, it’s almost a hobby!

  3. M April 19, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    hehe, i know. craigslist is like a ‘how to spot a conman 101’, except it took naive little me a while to figure that out. anyhow, good luck! and if i come across anything useful i’ll try and let you know.

  4. Poulette April 19, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    Thanks M, and don’t worry about feeling like a douche bag re scams – if a psychic didn’t specifically tell me to be careful of someone trying to scam me last October, i’d be 500 euros more in debt!

  5. villy April 19, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    Ugh, this sounds like such a pain in the bum. I want to move to Paris mid-year and still need to find a job and an apartment. Don’t tell me, I have already read how difficult it is and how notoriously slow the French agencies can be to deal with! I am up for it though. I am picking up hints from your blog though (and some others) and keep checking on your progress. I am mentally filing this entry under: hints on how to find an apartment and avoid scammers.

  6. Poulette April 20, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    Good work Villy, you can do it. Just do one thing at a time, house, THEN job. Learn from my rookie errors!

  7. villy April 20, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Woah, really?! I was going to try to get a job before I left so I knew I could pay for my rent. This is a no-no?

  8. Poulette April 20, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    No! Its great if you can!!! But if you cant, you need all your eggs in one basket to find a place, then you can concentrate on job.. but that’s just how it works best for me.

  9. M April 21, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    i’ll just pitch in to say that it does help if you have a job to start with since most landlords will expect either a deposit or a guarantee from your employer to sign a lease. not to mention payslips, etc. so may be a lot simpler to find a place after getting a job.

  10. Poulette April 21, 2010 at 7:52 am #

    Good call M. Listen to her.
    I do it the dumb way! Mind you i only look for colocations, i prefer living with Frenchies – and without the hassle of paperwork etc.
    Guess that’s just the way i roll.

    x

  11. villy April 21, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    Thanks M and P! I think I definitely will need to live with Frenchies too, so it’s colocations for me. I will keep an eye on craig list etc for that.

    Any hints on getting a job? Ha! Wishful thinking?

Leave a Reply

