The Art of Happiness

31 Mar

I found my iPod today.

It had been missing since January.

It was in the pocket of my leather jacket. An interesting reminder that it has been too cold even to wear a leather jacket in a long time. And an encouraging reminder that summer will indeed arrive once again. Eventually.

What was an even nicer find, when i plugged in my earphones at long last, was the absolute rush of joy that flooded into my body when i heard Regina Spektor coming through to me once again. It must have been the last thing i was listening to – before it got too cold to wear the jacket anymore.

And it instantly brought me back to last summer.

I realised in that moment, sitting in the metro, that over the last summer in Paris – in my tiny little studio under the rooftops of Belleville, with barely enough money to feed myself – was one of the happiest times of my life so far.

I think a tear actually ran down the side of my face while i was contemplating what it was about that Summer that made it such a time of happiness. I’d like to capture it in a bottle and use it again when i’m in need.

There was nothing particularly exciting about that summer. It was such an idle, dreamy and simple time. I was relaxed, there was sun, a lot of free time,  i was getting to know Mr No Name (well i had fingers in a few pies at that time), and i think it may have actually been the first time i’ve ever had my own place, now that i think about it.

I don’t know if it’s one of those things in particular, something else entirely or if it’s just a melange of all the nice things above, but it was really, really nice.

And when i heard that music coming into my mind again for the first time since then, it gave me a renewed sense of what i should be aiming to bring into, or to keep in, my life – and now i feel like the path is getting exciting again.

A double win for Poulette today.

And for all mankind as well ;)

4 Responses to “The Art of Happiness”

  1. Grace April 1, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    This is a beautiful post, poulette. Thanks for sharing your happiness and the memory.

    • Poulette Paris April 1, 2011 at 10:10 am #

      Thank you for listening!

  2. Laurent April 10, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Yes, happiness is a state of mind that is often only dependend of a few conditions.
    Some 13 years ago I got all worked up about not being able to find a bigger appartment, until I realized that soem of my happiest years were in tiny student rooms, and I never bothered about it again.

    • Poulette Paris April 14, 2011 at 10:48 am #

      Its true, i’m realising more and more. It’s a fine art to keep the balance, and it’s tricky coz you never know whats actually tipping the balance in your favour until a little later. I guess that’s what growing old and wise is about eh!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

